Beauty · Lifestyle

What’s in My Emergency Bag?

So in everyday life, there’s always a time when something happens and you’re unprepared, but if you’re like me then you’re always prepared. I keep a little cosmetic bag full of all things I may need when I have an emergency at school in my bookbag.

I like to stay moisturized at all times, so I keep two bottles of lotion in my bag. Since I go to an all girls’ school there’s always an abundance of people around me who do have lotion, so it seems unecessary to carry lotion with me, but I have very sensitive skin. Most girls use scented lotion from stores like Victoria’s Secret and Bath and Body Works, which are the stores I can’t wear lotion from so I always have to decline my friends’ sweet offers when they ask me if I want some of their lotion (even though I really want to use it).

The only lotion brands I can use are Aveeno and Eucerin, so those are the two I carry with me: Avenno Daily Moisturizing Lotion with Broad Spectrum SPF 15 and Eucerin Skin Calming Daily Moisturizing Creme.

The Aveeno lotion is travel sized and I think my mother bought an extra one when she was buying stuff for vacation, which is why it has SPF in it. The Eucerin lotion is a sample one that my mother got from the dermatologist, so that’s why it’s so small, but ignore the fact that it’s skin calming; my skin is fine and it does not need calming.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’m a bit of a germaphobe, so the next three things I keep in my bag make sense. My school tends to run out of soap in the bathroom on the third floor at least once every two weeks because it’s the most used bathroom. Most girls just say, “Whatever,” and rinse their hands under the water a couple times, go back to class, and get hand sanitizer from the dispensers we have in every classroom.

I am not that person.

My mom gave me the idea to take one of my PocketBac Bath and Body Works hand sanitizers bottles when it got empty and fill it with soap from our soap bottle at home and take it with me to school, so I would have soap when there’s none at school. Now I always have soap with me and I feel very clean.

I also have two baby wipes and a Wet Ones because you never know when you might get something on your face or hands and the only way to get it off is to use a wipe.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

There are just some things all girls should carry with them wherever they go because they’re just very important essentials when you’re a girl.

The first two items sort of go hand in hand: a pad/tampon and ibuprofen/Advil. Personally I prefer using pads and I keep those in my bag for that reason. I use the Target brand of ibuprofen when I have cramps. I once asked my mother why we use the Target brand instead of Advil and she said it’s because we don’t have to worry about the Target brand being recalled like a big brand name like Advil, which I think is a very smart idea.

I have cough drops in case I’m suffering from a sore throst. Unforunately, they’re the Halls ones, which I find very unpaletable and I like the Luden ones instead.

Then I have this cool floss card I got from the dentist and I just keep it in my bag because it’s so convenient and you never know when you might have something in your teeth.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The last couple of things I keep in my bag are just to help me when I’m a mess to put it nicely.

I have the comb because my hair moves around a lot during the day and I like to comb it back into place. When my hair is being really uncooperative, I put it in a ponytail with one of the scrunchies I have in my bag or I pin it back with a bobby pin.

I have SoftLips because I misplace my lip balm sometimes, so it’s good to have a back up one. I keep a glasses cleaner in my bag because I wear glasses and sometimes they get dirty throughout the school day (How? I don’t know). Then the reason why I keep the last thing is kind of obvious, so I’m not even going to explain why I have a mirror in my bag.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

So that’s all I keep in my emergency bag! I hope you enjoyed reading about all my necessities and have ideas about what to keep in your own emergency kit!

Sincerely,

Shania

2 thoughts on “What’s in My Emergency Bag?

Leave a Reply

